- I am at least 21 years old.
- I have a valid FOID card. (you can apply for a F.O.I.D card at the same time as your CCW permit)
- I do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or intoxicating compounds within the last 5 years.
- I am not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
- I have not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
- You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement.
FOID -Firearm Owner’s Identification
CCL- Concealed Carry License
CCF- Concealed Carry Firearm
CCW- Concealed Carry Weapon
No. A FOID card is not necessary in order to take the class. We do recommend that you apply for one on the IL State Police website in order to already start the process. We can also assist you with doing so after class. You must be able to legally own a firearm in Illinois. You must be at least 21 years old.
A newly-issued Concealed Carry License has a five-year expiration date.
A “Concealed firearm” is defined, in relevant part, as a loaded or unloaded handgun. “Handgun” means any device which is designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, or escape of gas that is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand. “Handgun” does not include:
- A stun gun or taser;
- A machine gun as defined in item (i) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
- A short-barreled rifle or shotgun as defined in item (ii) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012
- Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paintball gun, or B-B gun which expels a single globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter, or which has a maximum muzzle velocity of less than 700 feet per second, or which expels breakable paint balls containing washable marking colors.
Yes. All applicants are subject to the same qualification standards.
Specifically, all applicants must complete the applicable training as specified in 430 ILCS 66/75. Pursuant to Section 75(e) instructors are not required to issue training certificates to any applicant who: (a) does not follow the orders of the certified firearms instructor, (b) in the judgement of the certified instructor handles a firearm in a manner that poses a danger to the applicant or to others or (c) during the range firing portion of testing fails to hit the target with 70% of the rounds fired.
The statute and rules provide objective standards to be applied by the instructors. The Illinois State Police does not condone discrimination on the basis of a physical disability.
No. Once you submit a Transaction Control Number (TCN), it will remain a permanent part of your Illinois CCL record.
The License Application is $150 for Illinois residents and $300 for out-of-state residents. The ISP uses Illinois ePay. Illinois ePay applies a 2.25% service fee, or a minimum of $1.00 for credit cards or $.50 for an Electronic Funds Transfer.